Sound Plasma Festival for microtonal music

Sound Plasma Festival for microtonal music
Sonntag | 21. Oktober 2018 | 18:30 Uhr

2nd edition of Sound Plasma, festival for microtonal music.

19-21 October 2018
18h30 and 20h30

19th October
Rebecca Lane (flute) and Jonathan Heilbron (contrabass)
Works by Catherine Lamb

Samuel Ekkehardt Dunscombe clarinets and electronics
Works by Horatiu Radulescu, Samuel Dunscombe

20th October
Vincent Royer (viola)
Works by Horatiu Radulescu, Giacinto Scelsi

Ensemble for New Music Tallinn
Yair Klartag Pros mathematikous (2015)
Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes – Crisis (2016) DA
Horatiu Radulescu – Khufu Serpent (2003)
Ove-Kuth Kadak New piece (2018)

21st October
Sigma Project ensemble
Georg Friedrich Haas – Saxophone quartet (2014)
Helga Arias – Milk spilt on a stone (2017) DA
Wieland Hoban – Estreno (2018) UA
Arash Yazdani – Stromateis: Emergence (2017) DA
Alberto Posadas – Knossos (2016) pour quatuor de saxophones

Sound Plasma ensemble in residence
James Tenney Glissade (1989)

English below

Die zweite Ausgabe des Sound Plasma Festivals. Sound Plasma ist ein Mini-Festival, das der mikrotonalen Musik in der umfassendsten Begriffsdefinition gewidmet ist.

Weil die Untersuchung verschiedener Aspekte der mikrotonalen Musik spezifische Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen erfordert; Das Festival versammelt eine kleine Gruppe von Experten der mikrotonalen Musik als Ensemble in Residenz, um eine seltene Aufführung einiger wichtiger Werke der mikrotonalen Musik zu geben.

Alle Künstler und Komponisten werden von den Pionieren der mikrotonalen und alternativen Intonation der Welt ausgewählt.

Nach dem erfolgreichen Start unseres eigenen Mini-Festivals Sound Plasma für mikrotonale Musik in Tallinn und Berlin, sind wir für die Nachfrage und Vorfreude auf die zweite Ausgabe sehr gespannt.


Sound Plasma is a mini festival dedicated to microtonal music, in broadest definition of the term. A series of performances from 19th to 21st of October, at 18:30 and 20:30 in Acker Stadt Palast. Featuring several world and German premiers of works of alternative intonation.

With many avid fans extending beyond contemporary or classical music community, many composers employ various aspects of microtonality/micro-intervals on their works to some degrees, either as means of expression, or as the very fabric of their music. Meanwhile, the more experimental and liberal microtonal music often has little place on the usual repertoire of contemporary music institutions or festivals. Sound Plasma is hoping to fill the gap by presenting a festival fully dedicated and devoted to repertoire of microtonal contemporary music.

Following the successful launch of Sound Plasma festival for microtonal music, there is a growing demand and anticipation for the second edition.

The Sound Plasma project gives occasion to present less known, yet important and powerful, works of microtonal music. Works by composers such as Horatiu Radulescu, Alberto Posadas, James Tenney, Georg Friedrich Haas, Alvin Lucier, Wieland Hoban, Gerard Pape, Chiyoko Szlavnics, Arash Yazdani, among others, will be performed during the festival.

The investigation of various aspects of microtonal music requires specific skills and experience; which are the main part of performing groups/musicians’ agenda. A total number of 6 concerts are scheduled to take place on the 2018 festival; The Spanish virtouso quartet, Sigma Project will have its German debut on the festival. Larger ensemble performances by Ensemble for New Music Tallinn alongside by smaller setups by festival’s ensemble-in-residence. Other performers include Erik Drescher, Vincent Royer, Samuel Ekkehardt Dunscombe, Rebecca Lane and Johnny Chang.

im Acker Stadt Palast
Ackerstraße 169/170, Berlin
Tickets: 10€ bis 15 € (nach Vermögen/ sliding scale) unter karten[at]